Clique Kits: Combining Patterned Papers

Hi am on Clique Kits blog today sharing my creative process in creating a layout dear to my heart as it marks an important step my little girl took on 1 January 2015 – she got her ears pierced!

Happy 2015, @Colortypes Sophie @Cliquekits, #cliquekits #scrapbooking #DIY #ckhappyeverything

Usually when I create, I like to go through the papers in my kit and select one that I really like as a background piece. In this instance, I chose “Diamond cloud” for all it’s fun whimsical elements.

Happy 2015 words, @Colortypes Sophie @Cliquekits, #cliquekits #scrapbooking #DIY #ckhappyeverything

And because there is so much going on in the paper, I wanted to anchor my photos on another patterned paper that would provide some space for the eye to rest. So in steps “Cross hatch”. Here, I cut a vertical piece of the paper and attached it to the middle of “Diamond cloud”. I also used a pen knife to cut parts of the cloud and tree so that they could be lifted to be above the “Cross hatch” paper. A little tip here to save some paper: Cut the part of “Diamond cloud” that is hidden by “Cross hatch” and you get to use that on another project.

Happy 2015 3 words, @Colortypes Sophie @Cliquekits, #cliquekits #scrapbooking #DIY #ckhappyeverything

Once the background is completed, I move on to attach my photos in a grid pattern in the middle of the layout and anchored them with the “Happy” circle diecut and the title of the layout in the bottom right corner. Add on a little gold heart and flair and I was happy with it.

Happy 2015 2, @Colortypes Sophie @Cliquekits, #cliquekits #scrapbooking #DIY #ckhappyeverything

Finally, for my finishing touches, I cut some triangles from “Triangle blocks”, scattered them around the page and outlined each triangle with a black pen for some doodling effect. I also cut a strip from the same patterned paper and attached it at the bottom of the page.

Happy 2015 4, @Colortypes Sophie @Cliquekits, #cliquekits #scrapbooking #DIY #ckhappyeverything

And there we have it – a fun page to remember how brave this little girl was to get her ears pierced. Thanks for joining me today!

 

 

Leave a Reply

