Cocoa Vanilla Studio: Sage

Salutations everyone! I’m totally thrilled to be sharing my first layout for Cocoa Vanilla Studio using all the yummies found in Cocoa Vanilla Studio’s Sugar & Spice collection. When I first laid my eyes on this gorgeous collection, it was an immediate gut reaction to create a page about mu little girl, Sage. It certainly helped that Sage was beside me at that moment and she was also gushing over all the colours, butterflies and flowers.=)

Sage My Girl FN

I love the blue background paper very much and it was the perfect choice for this layout, given that blue is Sage’s favourite colour. Using her name as the main focus, I went on to cut out each letter from different patterned papers in the collection. I also outlined each letter with a black marker to give them more definition. Then came the fun bit – embellish to my heart’s content!

Sage My Girl 1 FN

I used loads of stickers from the sticker sheet, wood veneers and cork hearts to surround the word “Sage”. To add further interest, I also created my own blooms using quilling techniques. See the flourish at the bottom of the letter “E”? I love how by simply curling a piece of paper and adhering it to the page, a little movement is created. I thought it was fun to anchor it with the absolutely adorable floral flair button that is my favourite from this collection.

Sage My Girl 3 FN

Once I was happy with the entire college of embellishments, I hand-stitched around the cream paper and added a few cross stitches to the corners for added interest.

Sage My Girl 2 FN

For a final touch, I splatted on some white paint and my page is done! Thank you for joining me and I hope you have some fun creating clusters around words on your pages too!

Leave a Reply

