Zutter Zisters Blog Hop

Greetings! Thanks for taking the time to join us Zisters for our Blog Hop! If you’re here, chances are you came from Fleur’s blog! To keep the Zutter fun rolling, here’s my Spring Zutter Project to share with you:

Here’s my Spring Canvas featuring Owire Flowers and Zutter’s totally versatile Canvas Art Board. This is a visual reminder to myself to continually grow each day!

So here are the steps to creating your own visual reminder for this Spring.

First, apply a layer of gesso to the Art Board. Once it’s dried, I applied chalk to the board to create the skies and field. A layer of peral mist was added to soften the effect.

Next, to create the flowers, I cut out 4 rounds of owire and coiled them using my BIA. To make a slightly bigger flower, cut 5 rounds of wire. In this instance, I used my 1/2″ wires.

Now for the fun part of twisting the wires. Following the pictures to get a better idea of the entire process:

Starting from the 3rd picture: Straighten the first round of wire.

Picture 4: Form a ‘v’ between the first and second round of wire.

Picture 5 and 6: Shape the remaining 2 rounds of wire around the first two petals

                Picture 7: A 5 petal flower. You can easily create this too using the above steps and by including another round of wire.

Picture 8: Punch a hole on a piece of round paper and use a rivet to attach the wire flower to the paper. Your completed Owire bloom! You can use ribbons or ric-racs to form the stem for these lovelies.

So there you go, your very own wire blooms to adorn your Art Board with!  The rest of the steps were easy. I doodled clouds on scrap bits and added these to the skies. Had a quote from Cosmo Cricket’s patterned paper attached and finally, handcut loads of grass for the field to give the Art Board even more texture and dimension.

So to stand a chance to win some awesome Zutter products, all you’ll have to do is leave me a comment. The winner will be receiving one set EACH of Antique Brass and Antique Silver Hang-it-Alls and the Rivet Hammer & Setter set. So do drop me some love today and I’ll be drawing a winner on March 29 7pm EST. So for Aussie Srcappers, that means 11am 30 March.  

Now don’t forget to continue on with you Blog Hop journey and leave my fellow Zisters some love! You’ll be heading off to Pam’s next!
Sophie Sim  https://colorsgalore.wordpress.com/  <-You are here
Sarah De Guzman http://redoaklines.com/
So have fun, don’t stop creating and do take the time to smell the flowers this Spring! For friends Down Under, yup, Autumn is certainly turning out beautiful here!
133 thoughts on “Zutter Zisters Blog Hop

  1. Monika Wright says:

    Thanks for showing how to make BIA flowers! Although, I don’t know if I could sacrifice my coils for flowers. Hmmmmm.

  2. Jane Hakes says:

    Who would have ‘thunk’ it! Making flowers from the wires….brilliant! Never thought of threading a ribbon through it and using the wire binding to hang something, either. Your blog is so inspiring!

  3. Annette says:

    Those flowers are a great idea – must give them a try. Love your canvas too.
    thanks for the chance to win the hang-it-alls – can think of a load of projects to use them on!

  4. Tiffany says:

    those flowers are VERY cool! Now I know what to do with some of my wire ends that I have kicking around. I never throw any of them away because “I might need them” – now I need them! 🙂

  5. Hui Mei says:

    Sophie, sooo sweet lovely flowers! These flowers will make very pretty hairpins too! Love the works of your hands! :):):)

  6. Trish says:

    Thanks for showing us another use for the owires. It’s always nice to know that crafting supplies are multi-purpose.

  7. Stampersue says:

    I love your canvas – what an inspired use of the bind it all. Just love your work

    You are so clever.The bind it all is my favourite crafting tool of all times.

  8. Sharon Andrews says:

    Love your canvas. Wouldnt it be great to win the giveaway of hang it alls & the hammer. LOVING everything on all the blogs
    Shazza

  9. Eileen C says:

    That is sooooooooo clever, I would never have thought of making wire flowers from BIA wires! They look lovely, I’m going to try and play with these …

  10. CJ says:

    OMG I never would have thought of using the o’wires like that!!! And i have so many little scraps of them leftover from my projects (I use it with clients at work and have done MANY journals now)…Thank you for the creative inspiration!!!!!

  11. Philippa says:

    I think I could do with reminding about that too! Love the wire flowers and the chalk shy – thanks for sharing

  12. Milly / Thistlecraft says:

    Am loving this bloghop — so many creative ideas and so much inspiration! And the canvas boards look like an amazing product — so many possibilities! Your chalked background is just gorgeous, by the way!!! Thanks for sharing this project with us!
    Milly / Thistlecraft.etsy.com

  13. Rosa Youschak says:

    Hi! I’ve never been on a blog hop and this is really cool! My son loves the train and I love everything! I have a BIA but am still learning all about it. Thanks and have a fun weekend with the hop!

  14. Cheryl B says:

    I cannot believe the things you gals can see in a few circles of wire. I am so impressed and would love to try this. Thank you so much for sharing with us.

  15. Cindy says:

    THANK YOU so much for leaving such detailed instructions! I love that everyone has a different take on using the BIA and I love that someone always comes up with new ways to use it and it’s accessories. Your canvas is beautiful as well as inspirational and I look forward to following your directions to make my own flowers!

  16. Cathy says:

    Love this canvas! And I really love the calendar on the post before this one!! I have a home-schooling friend I’m sending that photo to – she’d love it!!

  17. Jeannine Brenner says:

    Such a beautiful project…I love that you have it hanging on a dress form! I love what you did to create the o wire flowers…brilliant!!

  18. Colleen says:

    What a great project and I love that you used the wire for the flowers. This is a very cheerful way to remind us of spring.

Leave a Reply

