When Papers Come to Life

On our usual walk to work in the morning, the beloved told me this story about Khing, a master carver, who was asked to create a bell stand for the Emperor. Khing decided to fast to focus only on the craft ahead, instead of considering if he will receive praise or criticism, nor desiring to live up to the expectations of others. After some time, Khing went out to the woods in search for the right tree to use for the bell stand. When the right tree appeared before him, the bell stand also appeared, clearly, beyond doubt. All he had to do was to put forth his hand and begin. When the bell stand was completed, it was so beautiful that the entire city suspected that it was the work of spirits. Yet to Khing, his response was, “I’m merely a craftman who loves what I do.” The Beloved said that seeing me create this week reminded him of Khing. Truth be told, I enjoyed tremendously what I created this week because of the absolutely beautiful papers I had from Graphic 45.

hi-its-time

The women on the Fashionista collection spoke to me, as if they were waving, inviting me to join them for an adventure. So this card says “Hi! It’s Time…” The inside says “…to Celebrate!”

two-become-one

 

I fell in love with the rich colors of the flowers for this layout. The blues and reds were a joy to work with and I’m glad they complemented my wedding bouquet. Had fun placing all the buttons on this layout and thereafter sewing thread through them. The vintage feel of the papers made these pictures pop!

feed-the-hungry 

This now hangs proudly on my kitchen wall – both as a reminder of why I cook, as well as our calling in life to serve and feed those around us – be it physically or spiritually. Just like Khing, these projects came easily because I felt a strong connection with the products used. I simply could not stop creating!

Today also marks my first official layout for Pink Sketches, after being told last week that I’ve been selected.

heartwork1

Continuing with our wedding pics, this was created to remember al lthe heartwork that went into decorating for our special day. These included the church, wedding favors, to my bouquet for the reception up North.

The joy of creating continues this wonderful week, when I checked my email and saw that Shine has been selected to be up on Basic Grey’s Gallery! What a thrill! With that, I’m reminding myself that truly, creating is a process that is regenerative, one that makes me truly, truly happy. Always create not because I have to, but because I love to…

Have a great and sun shiny week! I love sunny side ups (one of those meals that is created because I heard the eggs calling my name=)!

sunny-side-up

3 thoughts on “When Papers Come to Life

Leave a Reply

