Make My Day!

The last couple of weeks has certainly been challenging at work. Having to prepare papers for the impending exams, marking those that have come in from the tests, managing peeps that are getting out of hand and just learning to be more patient as a teacher… 

With that said, it is times like these that make creating all the more necessary – an outlet for me-time, to re-focus myself and just re-charge myself for a brand new day. Loads have been happening, especially with delightful news.

This arrived happily on a Tuesday after a hard day’s work:

Winning Elle’s Flicker Challenge for September was certainly a pleasant surprise. I had certainly not expected it when I read her blog earlier this month. It made my day and more importantly, reminded me that it’s really not about how layouts I complete. Instead, I need to take the time to thorughly enjoy doing each one at my own pace, playing with the layout and most importantly, pondering over the journalling.

Interestingly, the same layout also won the National Day Challenge at Made With Love.  THese were the stuff I received in the prize:

  

A pat on the back certainly! Interestingly, most of the items in the prize are items that I will rarely buy like rub-ons as they are pricey! I’m more of a paper gal!

Speaking of freebies, received some pencils as a gift that had interesting phrases on them like ‘correcting my mistakes’, ‘needs constant sharpening’… So guess what happened to them… plonked right on this layout:

 

This picture came from the Beloved’s best pal in Canada and I really enjoy listening to them when they talk. It’s like attending a tutorial in University! Definitely thought provoking. So here are the details of School of Thought:

 

I enjoyed creating this layout as it challenged me to consider what I should add to it to unify the theme that’s running through the entire piece. Dream Street’s Wonderland-Magical Moments paper certainly helped! The beautiful snowflakes sparked off my creative juices for the journalling which reads: “Just as each snowflake is unique, the ideas these guys share & generate are one of a kind! Listening to them speak is certainly having a lesson in the School of Thought.” This layout is also going to be submitted for Pink Sketches Sketch #6, and Create‘s September challenge that called for us to make use of stationery supplies in our creation.

In the spirit of creating, I have also been thinking of some loved ones and these having been crossing the seas to put a smile on some darlings’ faces:

These travelled to Australia with my parents to congratulate my sis on her graduation. She did really well and got her first class honours in early childhood education! Yeah! Card was created using papers that she loves and of course, piglet was there to congratulate her too. She adores that cutie to bits!

Next up is a card to the land above, when my dear C is.

Been putting off writing to her as there’s really so much I want to say….But yes, finally here goes Mr Owl to say Hi!

Ohhh….while writing this, dear Mr. Postman came along and delivered my Adobe package! Yes, finally, I will have photoshop to play with! Adios for now then! And Yes, I must try to write more often!

Leave a Reply

