Being Brave with Clique Kits

Salutations! I’m happy you are here=) I am so, so delighted to be part of the pep rally today and can’t wait to share what I have created with the rest of my kit. In line with the challenge theme of “Be Brave”, here’s my take on the theme, as well as my humble attempt at creating with all the yumminess packed into the kit.

Being Brave #1: Create a predominently pink page

I am not a pink crafter. There. I’ve said it. Pink is one of those colors that I do not really mind, but an overdose of it makes me cringe. And that’s for a Mama with a little girl. So when I was browsing through the kit, I found various stuff that were in the said hue and found them to be really, really beautiful. So I took a deep breath and promised myself to do something I have not done before – scrap in pink.

Image

Yup, loads of pink there and dare I say it – I’m a convert! Hello there candy floss pink! Hi parfait (great name for that background cardstock isn’t it?” This page is about my little girl’s love relationship with her blankie – her favorite toy. She goes places with it, courtesy of her imagination. By playing with words like “flight” and “soar”, elements like the aeroplane punch outs and wings are unified. My favorite aspect of this page? Those chevron arrows.

Image

I cut out strips of the chevron paper and folded them for added dimension. These worked with the aeroplanes so perfectly and really added playfulness to the page too. The only thing I added here that was not part of the kit were those red dots. The rest like the gold camera, paper bag and journal cards were from my stash of Clique Kits goodies.

Being Brave #2: Conquer the World

Not in the literal sense, but in the content of my next page, “U & Me”. Image

This world map patterned paper is awesome! So beautiful that I think it should be framed as is. So when I first laid my eyes on it, I simply could not decide what to do with it. Cut it up? No way! Leave it as is? Come on! I need a challenge! Oh no! How??? My brainwave moment came when I decided that I should scrap a page about my kids being larger than the world and all that the world offers.

So I stuck on the picture of them sharing a kiss, googled for the phrase “I love You” in different languages and drew various weather elements to be included on the page. I’m not great with my drawing. So for some inspiration, I googled once again for cartoon sun, rain etc. and improvised. My biggest accomplishment – Miss Snowflake. Created from a glassine bag that was part of the packaging in my kit.

ImageElements on the page were unified by including some twine, which were attached to the page using washi tape and “anchored” by some punch out anchors. Aren’t those stinking anchors cute? So there. My kids, anchored in the world through their love for one another, ready to brave all weather and situations. Journalling on this page reads “In good times or in bad, through storms & sunny days, no matter where we are, Brother & Sister we will forever be!”

Being Brave #3: Try Something New

Having scrapped through most of my kit, I am left with odds and ends, bits and pieces by this point. There were some really lovely journal cards and I have been procrastinating for the longest time about jumping on the pocket style scrapbooking bandwagon. I do not own any pocket style page holder (yet), but what the hack, let’s just do it! So “Life 4 Me: SAHM” was birthed.

ImageI knew I wanted to chronicle all that go on in my daily life as a Stay At Home Mum. I knew that I wanted a pie chart on my page to symbolise the amount of time I have in a day. So, for this page, I started with creating that massive pie chart on the bottom left corner.

Image

I gathered all the scrap bits of paper I had left from the kit, cut them into wedges and stuck them together to create this embellishment. See those words “This week’s itinerary”? I cut up one of the larger journalling cards to be included in this pie cart as well. Nothing gets wasted. The remaining parts of the pie chart were attached to the second page of this layout. I like that. Every bit of paper is used. Cool.

SAHM 1 Small

SAHM 2 Small

Some other aspects of using up all that were in my kit include the piece of cardstock that the flair buttons were attached to:

ImageThose sticky glue bits came off easily and my little girl was keen to scrap with me. So armed with her crayons, she doodled on the paper and I decided that it was representative of what I did everyone. So it made it’s way onto my layout. That little transparent bag with the shiny gold circle sticker was again part of the packaging (my Clique Kits, what great products you use in packing the kit too!) and I filled it with some gold heart sequins and anchors. There. Instant scrapbooking. All done with love,. Thanks Sage!

This crazy Mama who loves to use up packaging continued to do so with another glassine bag as a background:

ImageAnd with the “Thank You” Tag that Clique Kits sent with my kit:

ImageGiven that this section was to document how I get to create on some days, it would be great to remember the amount of fun I had as a guest designer for Clique Kits. So I cut out the paper label for “As You Wish” and Clique kits’ logo and used them as embellishments. Finally, that tag with the Hawaiian lady was too beautiful to ignore. So I left it as is, together with Gia’s great handwriting. So tahdah! Another bit of the layout created, this time courtesy of Clique Kits and Gia. Thanks ladies!

Phew! What a lonnnggg post! Almost at the end now. I’m glad I have been brave as I scrapped this month. Thank you once again you lovely ladies at Clique Kits for believing in me and giving me the opportunity to play with Field Trip. This chance has meant alot to me. Thank you lovely readers for popping by. You peeps are the best! I would love to hear you share in my comments about how you have been brave or how you love to use packaging when creating. Meanwhile, I am off to clear my scrapping desk and see if I can still squeeze something out of what is left of my kit. My, what awesomeness!

11 thoughts on “Being Brave with Clique Kits

  1. AMAZING projects Sophie! You went to town with this kit! You have definitely inspired me to use up the pieces of my kit to create some awesome pocket protector cards! I love yours and your layouts are awesome!

  2. What amazing projects! They are all so unique. I love the chevron arrows and the way you used the airplanes symbolically. The different languages on the world page and the packaging on the “pocket style” page are brilliant.

    Thanks so much for sharing with us!

  3. Sophie.all of your layouts just blew me away once again!! You rocked the pinks! And the map page one with all of the fun personalized additions you made-to die for!! You have been an amazing guest designer this month!! Lots of love to you and your family!! Hope to keep in touch! xoxo Gia

  4. Sophie! I’m in total love with all your designs! You really rocked this whole kit girl!! I love how you created your project life-looking two page spread using all the journaling cards and how your incorporated your child’s artwork! Just beautiful :)

  5. Simply Amazing!! I am in love with your style and technique! Your blog is adorbs and all of your projects that you created are fabulous!!! Thank you so much for sharing your amazing talent! Yes, the Clique kit girls are simply the best aren’t they??? Love them! P.S. I need to try the Project Life style of scrapping myself and I must say you nailed it!!! loves-Scrappin Madge

  6. LOVE them especially that first one. It’s so cool it looks digital.

Leave a Reply

